Even though Facebook boasts of its privacy, there have been many issues that are yet to be solved by Facebook. These things are not noticed by the users until someone draws attention towards such issues. Previously i had written about howFacebook Apps allegedly transmit user information Another issue about which i will mention in this post is that you can access your deleted photos in Facebook. The fact is that the photos which you delete from your profile in Facebook remains on the server for almost 30 months!! Several copies of your photos are created and are available on various servers for easy access from any location. But after you delete it, the photo is not visible in your profile but even then it can be accessed if the person knows the URL of the image. This was reported by a facebook user who said that the photo which he deleted around 2.5 years back was still accessible in Facebook’s Continent Distribution Network (hereby referred to as CDN). Yet another user named Fillipo reported that he deleted this photo in April 2009 and as you can see the image is still accessible. The URL of this image confirms that it was uploaded on Facebook’s Server and it is still available on its CDN.
I personally tried this with my own photos and yeah! it is true. You can watch the video if you don’t believe me.
Facebook’s spokesman Simon Axten said that they are working with the CDN to reduce the amount of time that the photo remains in its cache. The same issue arose for videos which has already been fixed. Let us hope that this issue is also fixed as soon as possible. Till then, keep your fingers crossed that no one knows the URL of your deleted photo. 😛